New American Stories

Author(s): Ben Marcus


The short story is a barometer for the state and shape of literature. New American Stories presents the boldest, most innovative and most resonant fiction coming out of the American literary scene. Ben Marcus, author of The Flame Alphabet and Leaving the Sea, has here curated an anthology that gives the lay of the literary land. From established masters of the form like Don DeLillo and Lydia Davis to neoteric trailblazers such as Rebecca Curtis and Rachel B. Glaser, this collection sees Marcus trying to 'prove that the distinctions we erect between styles and approaches to fiction can be essentially meaningless'. The result will be a must-read, must-own volume for readers of literary fiction.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

A collection of the best short fiction being written in America, selected and introduced by Ben Marcus

BEN MARCUS is the author of Notable American Women, The Father Costume, The Age of Wire and String,The Flame Alphabet and Leaving the Sea. His work has appeared in the New Yorker, the Paris Review, the New York Times, and McSweeney's. Marcus has received a Whiting Writer's Award, a NEA Fellowship in fiction, and three Pushcart Prizes. He is an associate professor at Columbia University.

General Fields

  • : 9781783781478
  • : Granta Books
  • : Granta Books
  • : August 2015
  • : August 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Ben Marcus
  • : Paperback
  • : Sep-15
  • : 784