Dancers on the Shore

Author(s): William Melvin Kelley


The first and only short story collection by William Melvin Kelley, author of A Different Drummer, and the source from which he drew inspiration for his subsequent novels. Originally published in 1964, this collection of sixteen stories includes two linked sets of stories about the Bedlow and Dunford families. They represent the earliest work of William Melvin Kelley and provided a rich source of stories and characters who were to fill out his later novels. Spanning generations from the Deep South during Reconstruction to New York City in the 1960s, these insightful stories depict African American families--their struggles, their heartbreak, and their love.

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781787478053
  • : Quercus
  • : Quercus
  • : August 2020
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : William Melvin Kelley
  • : Paperback
  • : 288