The Collected Stories of John Cheever

Author(s): John Cheever; Hanif Kureishi (Introduction by)


"These outstanding stories of American award-winning novelist, John Cheever, show the power and range of one of the finest short story writers of the century. Stories of love and squalor, set in a world in which momentary glimpses of brightness contend with time, social change, and the chaos of history."

Product Information

The complete collection of award-winning stories from one of the finest American writers of the last century

Winner of Pulitzer Prize Novel Category 1979.

John Cheever was born in Quincy, Massachusetts, in 1912, and he went to school at Thayer Academy in South Braintree. He is the author of seven collections of stories and five novels. His first novel, The Wapshot Chronicle, won the 1958 National Book Award. In 1965 he received the Howells Medal for Fiction from the National Academy of Arts and Letters and in 1978 he won the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Pulitzer Prize. Shortly before his death in 1982 he was awarded the National Medal for Literature.

General Fields

  • : 9780099748304
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Arrow
  • : October 1990
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : John Cheever; Hanif Kureishi (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : 04/01/
  • : 896