Queens of Noise - The Real Story of the Runaways

Author(s): Evelyn McDonnell

grrrls | heavy rock

This is the first biography of The Runaways, told with the participation of all the surviving members, including Joan Jett and Lita Ford. The story of The Runaways has never been told in its entirety. Drawing on interviews with most of the former members of this seminal rock band, along with their controversial manager Kim Fowley, producer John Alcock, colleagues, family members, fellow musicians, journalists, and other associates, Queens of Noise documents and investigates this sensational story. It will also look beyond the lurid voyeuristic appeal of a sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll saga to give the band its place in musical, feminist, and cultural history. Drawing on the author's own experience as a writer of literary nonfiction, it is a raucous, tragic, sexy, harrowing, and inspirational read.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Evelyn McDonnell, author or co-editor of five books, has been a pop music critic for the Miami Herald and a senior editor at the Village Voice. She lives in Los Angeles.

General Fields

  • : 9780306820397
  • : Hachette Books
  • : Da Capo Press Inc
  • : July 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Evelyn McDonnell
  • : Hardback
  • : 320