Metaphonics - The Field Works Listener's Guide

Author(s): Stuart Hyatt

noise / industrial / experimental | art theory | theory & criticism

Our world is a recording studio where people, places, and things become the instruments. Stuart Hyatt spent years collecting these sounds and arranging them into site-responsive music. Working collaboratively as Field Works, a group of international musicians contributed over 50 new compositions to this collection. In this book, Hyatt presents a comprehensive guide to the Field Works box set, in the process addressing the interpretation of place through sound. In the foreword, renowned naturalist Bernie Krause establishes the taxonomy of the soundscapes explored in this volume: geophony (earth), biophony (animal), anthropophony (human), and cosmophony (outer space).


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9789492852021
  • : Jap Sam Books
  • : Jap Sam Books
  • : February 2019
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Stuart Hyatt
  • : hardback
  • : 266