Product detail

Where the Stress Falls

Where the Stress Falls

Author: Susan Sontag
Series: Penguin Modern Classics Ser.
$26.95(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

"Where the Stress Falls" is divided into three sections: the first, 'Reading', includes ardent pieces on writers from Sontag's own private canon - Machado de Assis, Barthes, W. G. Sebald, Borges, Tsvetaeva and Elizabeth Hardwick. In the second, 'Seeing', she shares her passions for film, dance, photography, painting, opera and theatre. And in the final section, 'There and Here', Sontag explores her own commitments to the work (and activism) of conscience and to the vocation of the writer.


'[The essays] invariably also leave one with the urgent desire to read the book or see the painting, play, dance she describes. Her passion evokes that urgency...' Bookforum

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780141190211
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : Penguin Classics
  • : June 2009
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 352
  • : Susan Sontag
  • : Paperback
  • : 909