Product detail

The New Jerusalem

The New Jerusalem

Author: Patti Smith
$49.95(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

The New Jerusalem, the new book by poet and punk legend Patti Smith. This long prose poem in the tradition of John's Revelation and the poetry of William Blake shows a prophetic vision of art and humanity, faith and freedom; an image of the escape from the rituals of power and the mechanisms of social control.

This beautiful bilingual (English & Dutch), bound edition features color illustrations and photos by Patti Smith and is irresistible to the real bibliophile. The introduction by Rob Riemen discusses the relationship between art and spirituality in the poem by Patti Smith and in art in a general sense.

Description
The New Jerusalem, the latest book by Patti Smith - poet, punk legend and author of the bestsellers Just Kids and M Train. A stunning long prose poem in the tradition of St. John and William Blake, The New Jerusalem presents a prophetic vision of art and humanity, faith and freedom; a vision of escape from the rituals of power and the mechanisms of social control. Illustrated with colour photographs and art work by Patti Smith, this beautiful hardbound volume is a true collector's item. With an introduction by Rob Riemen exploring the connection between art and spirituality in Patti Smith's poem and in art more broadly, The New Jerusalem can serve as a reminder of the prophetic power of poetry and a guide to all who need it in these times of resistance. The New Jerusalem was presented at the Nexus Symposium with Patti Smith "An Education in Counterculture", 26 May 2018 in Amsterdam.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9789090309798
  • : Nexus Institute
  • : NEXUS
  • : January 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Patti Smith
  • : 76